Minors and Alcohol Related Offenses
If you, or someone you know, has been charged with an alcohol related offense and is under the age of twenty one you should contact an attorney immediately. The following if for informational purposes and cannot be used as a substitution for legal counsel. Common alcohol related offenses that minors may be charge with include, but are not limited to a minor in possession, offenses relating to possession or use of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, possession or use of drugs, altering a driver’s license to obtain alcohol, and so on.
There are a number of possible ramifications for minors facing alcohol related charges. First, many of them result in points being assessed to your Missouri Driving Record. This can result in increased premiums or even being dropped by an insurance carrier.
As a result of Missouri’s “Abuse and Lose” laws, codified by the Revised Missouri Statutes in Chapter 500 at 577.500 and 577.525, a court may, at its discretion, order that individuals driving privileges revoked for up to one year.
If a minor’s license is revoked it may have some practical effects on that individual’s life, including difficulty finding transportation to work or school, loosing scholarships, becoming ineligible for certain types of federal funding for higher education, or even be excluded from extracurricular activities at any education level. Such a conviction may make it difficult, or even virtually impossible, for an individual to attend college, both because funding sources may be limited and because colleges may view this conviction unfavorably during the admissions process. If a minor is convicted for an alcohol related offense it may need to be disclosed to colleges and employers, even if the individual is granted a suspended imposition of sentence or suspended execution of sentence.
In the event that a minor pleads to, or is found guilty of, an alcohol related offense and his license is suspended it may be difficult to get his license reinstated. At a minimum, the Missouri Department of Revenue requires that the individual pay a $45 reinstatement fee and provide proof of completion of the Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program, commonly referred to a SATOP. Substance abuse classes often cost several hundred dollars to attend and may be held at inconvenient times. Further, local prosecuting attorneys can make other requirements including, but not limited to, community service, excessive fines, and so on.
An alcohol related offense could cost a minor well over $1000 dollars in court fees and fines alone, and could even cost the individual access to higher education. If you or someone you know is facing charges for an alcohol related offense as a minor please contact the dedicated and experience attorneys at Licker Law Firm.